RECOVERING outlook contacts after changing mail account settings !

S

sydsdh

THis I hope has a simple solution... I have been using outlook for a couple of months synced to my hotmail account.

I got a new email account with a domain I created and changed the settings to direct to it... so my contacts have disappeared. I spent hours sorting the contacts and don't want to lose them. I have re-created another outlook profile linked to the hotmail account again and the emails are synced again but the contacts did not come back with the sorting and categorization or additions by the looks of it.

R

Roady [MVP]

Did you also keep your contacts in your Hotmail account?
Do they still show in your Hotmail account when you logon via the web?

If so, make sure you make a connection to your Hotmail account in Outlook via the Outlook Hotmail Connector;
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=3d003da0-f684-4f4d-a9c8-8d15b84f60d1

If not, it is probably because you stored your contacts in a separate pst-file.
To reconnect to any previous pst-file you might had, use;
File-> Open-> Outlook Data File...

Note that there is no need to create a separate mail profile just for adding an account. A single mail profile can hold multiple mail accounts.

S

sydsdh

contacts are there but I have lost the sorting.... categorizing

outlook data ... no old file shows up that I can see ... whats the default file location ?

Also what are the data files .. and why when I open does it add to the data file list ... are this always active after opening ? ... I don't understand the whole structure....

why do they make it so damn complicated....

Diane Poremsky

Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange

THis I hope has a simple solution... I have been using outlook for a couple of months synced to my hotmail account.