Design critique / advice please. - Several basic questions.

• Thread starter Norm Allen
  • Start date Views 782
Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Norm Allen

Greetings,

I'm new to Exchange, setting up a fresh 2010 install. I currently have GW7 running and am using Messaging Architects M+Guardian appliance as a filter to bi-directionally relay external mail. I have M+Guardian ready to roll, pointing to the internal IP of our single Exchange 2010 server.

Here are my questions on relaying..

1) Where in Exchange do I tell the server to relay external mail to our M+Guardian device?

2) Where do I tell Exchange to only accept mail (from external domains) from our M+Guardian device?

I also have questions on OWA and ActiveSync... - From what I understand, if I want to offer OWA and ActiveSync out into the cloud I need to publish them via TMG. - Is this correct?

I have an '08 Server ready to go with TMG 2010. It has 2 NIC's, one in the DMZ and another on an internal subnet. - What role(s) do I need running where?

In a nutshell, this is a very rough graphical view what I have:

Exchange 2010 (internal, no direct access from internet) < ---- > M+Guardian (in DMZ) < --- > {Internet}
^
|
â”” ------- > TMG 2010 < ---- > {Internet}

M+Guardian and TMG have separate public IP's with corresponding DNS entries. - All mail traffic from the outside world is directed to look at M+Guardian. OWA will have its DNS pointed to the TMG but I'm not sure what to do with ActiveSync given that I want to filter mail bi-directionally through M+Guardian.

Many thanks in advance!

Norm

L

Lorenzo Soncini

1) Where in Exchange do I tell the server to relay external mail to our M+Guardian device?

You need use a SEND-CONNECTOR (EMC - Organization -Transport Hub)
2) Where do I tell Exchange to only accept mail (from external domains) from our M+Guardian device?

Using the receive connector (EMC - Server Configuration - Transport Hub)