Need Help on Internet Mail with Edge Subscription

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SickNick2020

I have had Exchange 2010 on Windows Server 2008 set up internally and I am now setting it up for external mail for the first time. I am very new to e-mail servers and it seems to me exchange is one of the more complicated ones to set up to do external mail. Here is what I have done so far.
For one thing I have managed to send e-mail to my @gmail.com account with just a typical exchange setup (hub transport). I went on and set up a new machine with Windows Server 2008 and set up an Edge Transport server. Successfully installed it, along with Forefront.
I exported the Edge Subscription with

New-EdgeSubscription -FileName "C:\EdgeSubscriptionInfo.xml"
I then moved that file to the main exchange server and did a "New Edge Subscription" the site I gave it was "Default-First-Site-Name" that was the default it created I guess. And then I gave it the file and created a new subscription with send connectors.
I have added in my hub transport, accepted domains as *. Shoudld the IP point to the typical or to edge?
I have also enabled the default email address policy.
The target focus I have right now is I cannot communicate with Edge.
In my router I have this set up
50389, 50636, 389, 143, 110, 25 -> Edge Transport
80, 443, 53 -> Typical Exchange Server
I cannot send or recieve emails. When I run Start-EdgeSynchronization
I get "The LDAP server is not available."
I have ran into a bit of a brickwall here and wanted some help. I am not sure what I am doing wrong.
Thank you in advance.

M

Mike Crowley

Responses inline below:

I have had Exchange 2010 on Windows Server 2008 set up internally and I am now setting it up for external mail for the first time. I am very new to e-mail servers and it seems to me exchange is one of the more complicated ones to set up to do external mail. Indeed! Here is what I have done so far.