Beginner Question - Setting up Outlook Properties for New User

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

robinson cruso

I'm a newbie on server systems and exchange server.
My company uses Windows Server 2003.

I have to create a new user in active directory and give him our old worker's information. This is another story.
I have to set up outlook. Is there anything i have to do about outlook or will the server handle everything when i create the user?
Can i show our new worker our old workers mails?
Thank you for your patience and helps.

E

Ed Crowley [MVP]

You need to create an Outlook profile to identify which mailbox and server the user is to use. (If you have Outlook 2007 and Exchange 2007, this can be pretty much automatic.)

The easiest way to do this is to grant the new user full mailbox access rights on the old mailbox and he can open that mailbox as an additional mailbox in his Outlook profile. Alternatively, the new user can start with the old user's mailbox by creating a new user account without a mailbox and reconnecting the old mailbox to the new user's account. However, this method has some side effects the new user might find undesirable, so I don't recommend it.
--

Ed Crowley MVP
"There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."

"robinson cruso" wrote in message news:c05cd219-221e-46ed-88b6-83e83deb69b8...

I'm a newbie on server systems and exchange server.
My company uses Windows Server 2003.

I have to create a new user in active directory and give him our old worker's information. This is another story.
I have to set up outlook. Is there anything i have to do about outlook or will the server handle everything when i create the user?
Can i show our new worker our old workers mails?
Thank you for your patience and helps. Ed Crowley MVP "There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."

R

robinson cruso

Thank you for the clear explanation. Now i'm home but i'll give it a try tomorrow at work.