Prompt before sending contacts to Deleted Items folder

Status
Not open for further replies.

infotech

Is there a way to enable a prompt when attempting to delete a contact? At the current time, if I delete a contact, it zips away to the Deleted Items folder with no prompt. It is essential that a prompt is displayed before deleting the files. This is for the CEO of the company I work for. He wants to avoid any chance of deleting business contacts by accident. Whether there is a setting for this or some sort of macro, as long as the issue is resolved, he will be happy and so will I. Thank you for any help you may be able to offer.

Note: Even if there is a macro that displays a message after the contact is sent to the deleted items folder and then either moves it back to the origin or leaves it to rot would work. Unfotunately, I have no experience with writing macros :/

Diane Poremsky

Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Outlook doesn't offer an 'are you sure' prompt, but you can prompt with VBA. You'll use something like this (but i didn't test it yet to verify it works):

Private Sub Application_BeforeDelete(ByVal Item As Object, Cancel As Boolean)

'Prompts the user before deleting an item

Dim strPrompt As String

'Prompt the user for a response

strPrompt = "Are you sure you want to delete the item?"

If MsgBox(strPrompt, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbNo Then

'Don't delete the item

Cancel = True

End If

End Sub

infotech

Thank you for the response! Is there a way to make this macro run when someone deletes a contact from just the Shared Contacts folder? I'm new to macros so I really have no idea if this code will work under our circumstances. Thanks again!

Outlook doesn't offer an 'are you sure' prompt, but you can prompt with VBA. You'll use something like this (but i didn't test it yet to verify it works):

Private Sub Application_BeforeDelete(ByVal Item As Object, Cancel As Boolean)