Can't Use Contacts with Mail & iCloud in Outlook 2007

Status
Not open for further replies.

DigitalDawn

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2007
Email Account
Exchange Server
Hi,

Ever since I started syncing with iCloud and Code Two, with Outlook 2007, I can't seem to pull email addresses into a new email from my contacts or icloud folders.

When I pull a name using the TO: box, the name shows up sans email address. If I double click on the name it says: "Cannot perform the requested operation. The command selected is not valid for this recipient. An invalid ENTRYID was passed in."

Is there any way to fix this?
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Do you mean, when you start typing a name and it comes up in the autocomplete list or when you click the To button and select from the address book? If you are selecting from the address book, are you selecting it from the iCloud folder or the outlook contacts folder?

It sounds like something is goofy, I'm assuming because of the sync, but I'm not 100% sure. Have you checked with CodeTwo support?
 

DigitalDawn

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2007
Email Account
Exchange Server
Hi Diane,

The issue occurs both when I start typing a name and when using the TO button. Email is missing from both the iCloud and Contacts folder within the email portion of the program. In contacts everything is fine.

I left an email message with Code Two yesterday, but no response as yet. I also ran Scanpst with no luck.

I've been reading about others with the same problem and exporting and then importing the contacts in VCF format seems to fix the problem. What do you think?
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
You can certainly try exporting and importing. If you don't hear back from CodeTwo by the end of the business day, let me know and i'll email my contact - they are usually pretty good about responding, but may be slower on weekends.
 

DigitalDawn

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2007
Email Account
Exchange Server
Diane,

I did hear back from them. It was a boilerplate email stating that I needed to run scanpst and that they don't offer any tech support for their iCloud sync product. :-(

I would gladly pay for tech support, but they just don't offer it.

Dawn
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
I know they removed tech support because so many people were contacting them help with iCloud that was unrelated to their product - and that is out of their realm. But this does not sound like a typical iCloud issue.

Guys in the apple forums said export to anything but pst then import worked - https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1151218
 

DigitalDawn

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2007
Email Account
Exchange Server
Diane,

I tried exporting and importing using comma separated values, and it worked, sort of. Something strange occurred. See picture below.

Now I can access the email addresses from both the icloud and contacts via the TO box in the mail section. BUT, there are now two duplicate name listings for contacts that have a phone number in the FAX field. One name, let's say John Doe, has two listings -- one with the email address and the other with the business FAX number listed. This is the same in the icloud and contacts folders in the mail section. There are no duplicates in the contacts section.

More interesting is that if I delete the secondary FAX listing in the email section, it deletes the FAX number in the Contacts section. If I delete the FAX number from the Contacts section it's no longer duplicated in the mail TO listing. If I add it back in, it shows up again.

Any idea how I can get rid of this duplicate FAX listing in the Mail TO box? When a name is duplicated it won't come up if typed on the To: line.

Very odd, right??

John Doe outlook.jpg

Dawn
 

DigitalDawn

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2007
Email Account
Exchange Server
Diane,

Nevermind. I've been doing some reading and apparently, the FAX number issue is "by design". I guess it's just one of those screwy Outloook features.

As usual, thanks for your help.

Dawn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top