Outlook 2016 Sync gmail with Outlook 2016

TwoDog

New Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
IMAP
I have an IMAP gmail account in Outlook 2016 and I have been using a gmail on the Chrome browser. My goal is to use gmail in Outlook, independent of the gmail on the Chrome browser. However, I must be assured that both accounts say the same thing (in sync). Everything works great, except some (not all) of the messages deleted from the Outlook account are not deleted from the Chrome account. The only related setting I know about are in the Outlook gmail account > More Settings... > Advanced Tab. I have checked "Do not save copies of sent items" and "Purge items when switching folders while online".
In order to keep the same number of messages in each account, I have to delete some of the messages in Chrome that I have previously deleted in Outlook.
I hope there is a way to make this work. Thank you.
 

TwoDog

New Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
IMAP
1) Auto-Expunge on - Immediately update the server. (default)
2) Archive the message (default)
Now that I can guess:
1) Auto-Expunge on - Immediately update the server. (default)
2) Immediately delete the message forever
Another question: Is there a way to mark a message important or starred from Outlook. My goal is not to use Chrome for email. Thank you.
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
You have flags and categories - if you use the gmail starred & important folders, you can move messages into them. Oh, and there is High Importance - this is easier to use if you add the High Importance command to the ribbon or quick access toolbar.
 

TwoDog

New Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
IMAP
In Outlook 2016 > Acount Settings > E-mail tab > TwoDog Gmail address > Change Account > More Settings ... > Advanced Tab, I have the following items checked:
Under Sent Items:
"Do not save copies of sent items"​
Under Deleted items:
"Purge items when switching folders while online"​
In Chrome > Gmail > Settings > Forwarding and POP/IMAP, I have the following items checked:
Under When I mark amessage in IMAP as deleted:
"Auto-Expunge off - Wait for the client to update the server."​
Under When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder:
"Immediately delete the message forever."​
After I update all messages in Outlook, all messages under Gmail in Chrome syncs except for the messages under All Mail. All Mail includes all the items I have deleted from Outlook except for the Spam items (Spam items are gone.). In Outlook I delete Trash and Spam by right clicking and selecting Empty Folder.
Ideally, I would like all messages to sysc in case I wanted to do something with Gmail later on. I want to keep my options open so that Outlook does not effect Gmail. Is it possible to sync Outlook and Gmail?
In my mind the email server is at Google. Outlook and Gmail on Chrome are apps that connect to the server at Google. IMAP is the way Outlook connects to the server at Google. Is this correct?
Thank you for your guidance and suggestions. It's better to be helped than to be told the answer. You learn so much more. This has helped keep me out of trouble for some time now.
It may simply be Outlook and Gmail are independent of each other and connect directly with the server at Google. That way the problem is with Gmail and the server at Google. Hopefully there is a setting in Gmail that can delete the messages that have been deleted in Outlook.
 

TwoDog

New Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
IMAP
Everything is in sync and I do not have to monitor Gmail in Chrome. Thanks for you support and suggestions.

Outlook > Change Accounts > Gmail > Change Account > Internet E-mail Setting > Advanced Tab > Sent Items: "Do not save copies of sent items" is checked. Under deleted items: "Purge items when switching folders while online" is checked.

Chrome > Gmail > Settings > Forwarding and POP/IMAP: Under When I mark a message in IMAP as deleted: "Auto-Expunge off - Wait for the client to update the server." is checked. Under When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: 'Immediately delete the message forever" is checked.
 
Top