Copy/paste in outlook & pasted text is in html

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacque

i have been using Outlook 2003 for the past 7 years with relatively few complaints. In the past I was able to view a message in my inbox from the Reading Pane, copy text from it, and paste it into a calendar appointment or into the notes field of a contact record. Now when I do that, what actually pastes into the destination looks like HTML code. I have been told that I need to open the email and then copy/paste, but it seems strange that at one time I didn't need to do that. I have also been using XP Pro for past 7 years. Will really appreciate any help with this. I'm sure the solution is staring me right in the face, but I can't see it. Thanks. Jacque

Cathy Rhone

Outlook version
Outlook 2013 32 bit
Email Account
Exchange Server 2010
Does it work correctly if you open the message to copy? Are you using Word for the editor?

I don't have Outlook 2003 here at home, but 2007 works as expected. I can check it at work tomorrow though.

Jacque

Yes, it works correctly if the message is opened. Yes, using Word as editor. Of course I could just open the email, but I get hundreds of emails a day and respond to most of them, so even a shortcut that saves a few seconds is worth it. Thanks for your help.

Forum Admin

I can't repro it here. We'll see what catherized has to say with her tests.

Do you have all updates installed for Outlook?

Does it work in Safe mode? Close Outlook. Hold Ctrl as you click on the Outlook icon to open in safe mode.

Jacque

I can't repro it here. We'll see what catherized has to say with her tests.

Do you have all updates installed for Outlook?

Does it work in Safe mode? Close Outlook. Hold Ctrl as you click on the Outlook icon to open in safe mode.

Yes, all updates for Outlook have been installed. I have not tried it in Safe Mode but will do so and let you know.

Also, I do not have any add-ins.