Cannot create new mailbox database on exchange 2010

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JuhaAaaaaaa

Hi we have an working ex 2007 sp2 update rollup 1 enviroment running on an native 2008 ad. We would do an migration to exchange 2010 but on an new exchange 2010 (2008 sp2 + all hotfix's) server we can not mount an new database. See log below:

Summary: 2 item(s). 1 succeeded, 1 failed.

Elapsed time: 00:00:02

New test

Completed

Exchange Management Shell command completed:

new-mailboxdatabase -Server 'SP-EX03' -Name 'test' -EdbFilePath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\test\test.edb' -LogFolderPath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\test'

Elapsed Time: 00:00:01

Mount test

Failed

Error:

Couldn't mount the database that you specified. Specified database: test; Error code: An Active Manager operation failed. Error: The database action failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Database: test, Server: SP-EX03.xxxx.xx].

An Active Manager operation failed. Error: The database action failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Database: test, Server: SP-EX03.xxxx.xxx]

An Active Manager operation failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Server: SP-EX03.xxx.xxxx]

MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)

Exchange Management Shell command attempted:

mount-database -Identity 'test'

Elapsed Time: 00:00:01

And we have allready installed second 2008 R2 based exchange 2010 and the same problem is there also.

Anyone has any clues?

Juha

Edit:

Ok, now this is getting weird. Just done a manual powershell command:

new-mailboxdatabase -Server 'SP-EX03' -Name 'fii' -EdbFilePath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\fii\fii.edb' -LogFolderPath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\fii'

Name Server Recovery ReplicationType

---- ------ -------- -------------
fii SP-EX03 False None

And when I go to the folder where the edb should be the folder is empty, so no wonder it can not mount the databe.

Juha
 
B

Brian Day MCITP [MVP]

That -214... looks like an access denied error. Are you running EMS or EMC with the right-click " Run as an administrator" option when you launch it?Brian Day, Overall Exchange & AD Geek
MCSA 2000/2003, CCNA
MCTS: Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Configuration
LMNOP
 
J

JuhaAaaaaaa

Running as an administrator and tried both EMS and EMC, same thing...

And just to clarify, the process creates the folders but 0 files to it.

Juha
 
L

lazyadminhere

" Exchange Management Shell command completed:

new-mailboxdatabase -Server 'SP-EX03' -Name 'test' -EdbFilePath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\test\test.edb' -LogFolderPath 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\Mailbox\test'

Elapsed Time: 00:00:01

Mount test

Failed

" Error:

Couldn't mount the database that you specified. Specified database: test; Error code: An Active Manager operation failed. Error: The database action failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Database: test, Server: SP-EX03.xxxx.xx]."

An Active Manager operation failed. Error: The database action failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Database: test, Server: SP-EX03.xxxx.xxx]

An Active Manager operation failed. Error: Operation failed with message: MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)
[Server: SP-EX03.xxx.xxxx]"

MapiExceptionNotFound: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x8004010f, ec=-2147221233)

> This issue could be because of DSAccess cache. The cache may not have been flushed.

> Check with the DN of the Mailbox database in adsiedit.

Try restarting the AD Topology service and information store service.

Let me know if it works.

- Nagesh
 
B

Brian Day MCITP [MVP]

Thanks for the KB link! :)Brian Day, Overall Exchange & AD Geek
MCSA 2000/2003, CCNA
MCTS: Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Configuration
LMNOP
 
J

jader3rd

The edb file will get created the first time the database is mounted. Since all of the commands go through Exchange Remote PowerShell to the W3wc service, running as Admin won't do a thing. Concidering you were able to make a database for that server means that you should have the RBAC roles to mount the database.

I'm pretty sure that MapiExceptionNotFound can happen when the store service isn't running. Can you check to see if the Exchange Information Store service is running.
 
K

Knightshade

Reboot the box or restart you MS Information Store service and try to mount.

It should come up without a problem.

-Knighshade
 
C

claudetschepen

we have a similar issue mounting any database on the server.

MapiExceptionNoAccess: Unable to mount database. (hr=0x80070005, ec=-2147024891)

the only way around this was to install a second exchange 2010 server, create a new database and restore the database from backup, rehomed the users mailbox store (Get-Mailbox -Database OrgDB | Set-Mailbox -Database NewDB): far from ideal. thankfully the virtual environment allowed us to do this.

still faced with retiring the original exchange server, id prefer not to have to do this. any suggestions?

what we've tried:

-update rollup 4

-restart information store

-restart server

-removed/readded mailbox role

-set-adserversettings -preferredserver <fqdn of dc>
 
J

Jeff Thompson Wadsworth

I had this same issue. Here is the fix:

MS notes that the issue is related to having conflicting DCS and GCS entries. So do the following:

1. Open EMC and right-click on " Organization Configuration" . Choose " Modify Configuration Domain Controller" .

2. Specify the domain and the DC.

3. Open EMC and right-click on " Recipient Configuration" . Choose " Modify Recipient Scope" .

4. Specify the global catalog server. Make sure it is the same as the chosen DC.

5. Have a beer and enjoy life.
 
R

Rheomano

@Jeff,

Thanks a lot. Worked for me like magic after weeks of trying so many other suggestions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top