PST files Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mlnorman

I'm new to Outlook. I'd been using Outlook 2003 as just a calender and contacts manager (to coordinate with my Blackberry) but when I moved to WIN7 and Office 2010, I took the plunge and started using Outlook 2010 as my email client too. I managed to moved/import all my mailboxes and contacts and send up one email profile. Two questions please:

1. In 2010 I now have three .pst files where in Outlook 03 I had one. My three files are:

A) firstname.lastname.@abc,edu -- ABC.pst. (ABC is the name of my lone email profile.) This file is in C:\Users\FirstName\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook

B) Then I have Outlook Data File - ABC.pst. This file is in C:\Users\FirstName\Documents\Outlook Files

C) Then I have the regular Outlook.pst in C:\Users\FirstName\Outlook.

I thought that all my data -- contacts, email, tasks, email account settings were in Outlook.pst. Some of those other files must have been created when I set up my fresh email profile in 2010 and/or when I imported my old Outlook.pst from 2003.

Questions: Is all my data, emails, email settings, contacts, tasks all in plain old Outlook.pst? Do I need those other pst files and what are they for.

2. Question 2. I have four contacts folders: Contacts, Hospital, Christmas, Suggested Contacts. None of these are subfolder s. They all sit one under the other. When I sync with Blackberry, I only get the contacts from the "contacts" folder. I'm assuming if I want to ____ the contacts in the "hospital" folder, I have to move it and make it a subfolder of "contacts.

Thanks for taking the time to think about all this.

B

Brian Tillman