Unable to open pst file Outlook 2010

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

WisDoc

I am new to Outlook 2010 and archiving files. I selected " Mailbox Cleanup" and then Archive. I then clicked on a folder that contained dozens of old emails from my hotmail account. A file called karen.pst 6.2MB was created. However, when I attempt to open that file using Outlook, it says there are no items to view. Now when I log into my hotmail account, those files that I selected to be archived are not available, so it seems the emails are archived. Why can't I open up the pst file that was created? How do I get access to the emails I supposedly archived? I've spent hours trying to figure this out and my head hurts - help!

N

Niyamath Khan

Do you see the archive (karen.pst) in the navigation pane?

Click on File > Mailbox Cleanup > Archive > at the bottom of the window you will find "Archive file" in which the location of archive file would be mentioned.

Verify if it is the same file which you are trying to open in Outlook?

Open Outlook > Click on File > Open > Open Outlook data file > browse to the location of archive PST file and then try to open it.

W

WisDoc

Thank you. Yes, that was the problem. I didn't realize it would be at the very bottom on the navigation panel - I just didn't scroll down far enough:)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
M Unable to open Outlook. Error: Error have been detected in the files c:user\my name\appdata\local\microsoft\outlook\outlook.pst. quit outlook and mai Using Outlook 1
W Unable to open pst file Outlook 2010 Using Outlook 1
S Unable to Import PST or Open PST file Using Outlook 12
E Unable to open Outlook 2010 after adding new email account Using Outlook 4
G Outlook calendar entry corrupted. Constant pop up when you open outlook. Unable to delete or remove. Using Outlook 2
T Unable to open msg files in Outlook 2010 Using Outlook 11
B unable to open signed emails Using Outlook 1