Outlook stopped working

• Thread starter Althemedicineman
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Althemedicineman

Outlook stopped working. It partially loads, then "freezes". The mouse pointer moves around but clicking on any control button gets no response. I asked for help in this forum on 3rd Nov, and a re-install was suggested. Thanks for the replies, but reinstalling Office hasn't helped. My wife doesn't use Outlook so I went onto her account and performed what is essentially a clean set up. This works fine, so presumably the issue is not the software, but is to do with corrupted profiles or similar (I'm no expert). I have tried running the .pst scan/ repair tool. This found errors, but repairing them didn't help. If a "clean" install is what I need, how can I do this? Otherwise any new suggestions would be welcome. Please bear in mind that I can't access any menus in Outlook when in my user account (I can in my wife's), so any fix would have to be outside Outlook itself. Incidentally my antivirus is F Secure, but this is probably not relevant since it is operating when using my wife's account.

Thanks

N

Niyamath Khan

What type of account is configured in Outlook? E.g. POP/IMAP/Exchange

You may try to start Outlook in Windows clean boot to check if you are able to work.

Refer the steps given in the link below to start computer in clean boot:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

Note: Ensure to restart computer to normal mode once troubleshooting is completed.

A

Althemedicineman

Robert

No it doesn't work in Outlook Safe Mode. Is the link still relevant?

Alan

R

Roady [MVP]

No it doesn't work in Outlook Safe Mode. Is the link still relevant?Yes it would, but then it would be less likely to be caused by an add-in but by an external application. The link covers both scenarios ;-)

A

Althemedicineman