Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2003 as backup ?

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
This is possibly not possible, but hey, you never know!

I am running Outlook 2010 under Win7 64bit and have a spare PC running WinXP Home 32 bit that also has Outlook 2003 installed. I would like to copy my .pst file (Or my emails/folders) from OL2010 to OL2003 so I have a backup that I could use should I need it. I would like to be able to drop a new .pst file in OL2003 once a week to keep it updated or if there is a better (easier) way that would be great.

I have followed the advise given in 'moving Outlook to a new computer' which covers 2003 to 2010. not 2010 to 2003, then again not many would want to do this!

I have copied the .pst file and tried to set is as the default profile but this results in a warning that the file is not compatible with 2003, hence my thoughts that it may not be possible.

Is there a way or am I wasting my time?

Regards

Alan.
 

Forum Admin

Senior Member
Outlook 2010 psts files should work ok in Outlook 2003 - Outlook 2010 uses some additional properties and that is probably causing the message. I'll check in it - the method you are using is the generally the best.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Hi Admin.

Thank you for your fast reply, I will look forward to hearing your findings.

I hope there is a way:)

Regards

Alan.
 

Forum Admin

Senior Member
Whats the exact message you got when you tried to open it? Mine opened without issue. I'm wondering if your copy is corrupt or marked reads only or something.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
I have copied my .pst folder from OL2010 to OL2003 on my XP PC in C:\documents and settings\Alan\My Documents\Outlook. When I attempt to use the file by selecting file, open and the said .pst file the first message is:

Personal Folders.

'Properties for this information service must be defined prior to use.'

I select OK.

The second message then appears;

'The file, C:\documents and settings\Alan\My Documents\Outlook\XXXXXX@XXXXXXX.com.pst is not compatible with this version of Personal Folders Information Service. Contact your administrator.'

I have in all probability got something wrong but do not know what.

Hope you can advise what to try.

Many thanks

Regards

Alan
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Hi Diane.

Am I sure? Not any more! The old PC is running OL 2000 not 2003, as Microsoft have removed the update file SP1 it is not possible to update to OL 2000 to 2003. (I was sure it had been updated. Ohps)

Can I use an OL 2010 profile in OL 2000? As this is a reserve PC I don't want to spend a lot of money on a new Office program.

If so, kind lady, your help on how would be appreciated....:confused:

Many thanks

Regards

Alan.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

It should of course be SR1a (o2ksr1a file) not SP1, anyone know where to get o2ksr1a file?
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

You would need to export the pst to ANSI format and keep the pst size under 2 GB.

I think i have a copy of SR1a here that i can upload but it's not going to convert it to Outlook 2003 - it will still be Outlook 2000 with the 2 GB pst size file limit, just a more secure version.

How often will you use the backup copy? Will you need to send mail from it or just want to read?

What Office 2010 suite do you own? Some suites include 2 licenses, one for you main computer and one for a portable. As long as the second computer is only used by you and you generally won't use both at the same time, you could install Outlook 2010 on the old computer.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Hi Diane

Many thanks for your help, my replies as follows:

You would need to export the pst to ANSI format and keep the pst size under 2 GB
The .pst in C:\users\mypc\appdata\local\microsoft\outlook\outlook.pst is 221837kb so well below 2gb.

I think i have a copy of SR1a here that i can upload but it's not going to convert it to Outlook 2003 - it will still be Outlook 2000 with the 2 GB pst size file limit, just a more secure version.
If you have a copy that would be great, I have searched online for a few days trying to find it!. I will send a PM with my email address, once you tell me where to send it:confused:. I think it is possible, once you have SR1a to then add two further updates and then office 2003. Even if not having 2000 with more security is still worth the effort.

How often will you use the backup copy? Will you need to send mail from it or just want to read?
Use will be limited to 'as and when' I need to copy files to it, this could be once or twice a week or maybe none for a couple of weeks. I have set up the old PC with an email address that I will only use on that PC, that way I can also forward emails to it from my main PC.

What Office 2010 suite do you own? Some suites include 2 licenses, one for you main computer and one for a portable. As long as the second computer is only used by you and you generally won't use both at the same time, you could install Outlook 2010 on the old computer
Office 2010 Professional Plus with Windows 7 Professional 64bit. (Professional is stretching the point with me, like calling a 3 legged nag a steeplechaser!) I intend to get a laptop in the near future so want to keep the second installation of Win 7 and Office for that.

Regards

Alan.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Okay, I failed :(. There seems no option to export in Ansi using Outlook\options\export. Only CSV x2 Access and Excel, Outlook.pst and TSV x2.

I tried the .pst option but OL2000 again reported the file was not compatible with that version.
 

Forum Admin

Senior Member
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

You'd use PST format. I'll have to check it with Outlook 2010, but i think you will need to create an ANSI pst then export to that pst - I don't think you can select the Outlook 97-2002 format at the time of export. I messed up my Outlook 2010 install (installing Office 2013 trial forced 2010 into unlicensed, read-only mode) and need to fix it or make a new VM before I can verify the steps.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

You are correct in that there is no 'Outlook 97-2002' format in the export selection, only 'Outlook Data File .pst.' I exported my .pst file to a memory stick and tried to import it into the old PC. This resulted in the message re incompatibility with this version which I assume is Outlook 2000
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Oh Dear, I've just re read one of my posts:

I wrote

(Professional is stretching the point with me, like calling a 3 legged nag a steeplechaser!)
This was directed at me not the Office suite! In that I could hardly call myself 'Professional'. I hope you did not get the wrong idea, if anyone did I apologise.

Just another senior moment amongst many:(

Regards

Alan.
 

larry

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
Exchange Server
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

I thought it fit Office to a T. :D :D :D
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

My comment was made in error, at the time it was meant as a joke on my - less than professional - self, but we all make mistakes at some time.

It would seem that OL2000 cannot read the unicode format that OL2010 uses. If I have read the information right I found on the net then if I can update Office to 2003 spec then that would read unicode.

I have found that the original update of SR1a is no longer available from Microsoft but it may be possible to download and install SR3 as that includes all the previous updates.

Would you please advise if this is correct and downloading SR3 will update my Office 2000 Small Business?

Regards

Alan.
 

Forum Admin

Senior Member
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

I think we all know it was a joke - but larry has a point too. :) Office - especially Outlook - can be frustrating at times and the ability to joke about it helps.

Correct, Outlook 2002 and earlier do not support Unicode, they also are limited to 2 GB data files, which can be a problem if your Outlook 2010 data file is larger.

SR3 should include all of the updates you need - they removed SR1a & Sr2 because they want everyone still using the older versions to at least use the latest version. If you absolutely need SR1a, I might have a copy here somewhere - it was pulled from MSDN and TechNet subscriber downloads so I have to get it from a CD.

ETA: But installing SR3 will not fix the Unicode stuff.

Is there a reason why you can't install outlook 2010 on the old computer? The only reasons besides incompatible OS, would be you have OEM office, you need outlook 2000 for an addin or other feature, or you don't have the install disk for 2010. Or you have a keycard license which is limited to one computer. I have not tested keycards to see what happens if you install it on a second one at a later point - in older versions, you could activate (and use) without issue as long as you allowed 6 months or so between installs.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Hi Admin.

Thanks for the understanding, I thought I may have upset some who may have taken it the wrong way.

My Data file is less than 2gb.

I again got it wrong in that it was SP3 not SR3 I thought about downloading as it may have included the SR1a file. When I did download SP3 and attempted to install it (O2KSP3.exe) the warning message on screen was "The expected version of the product was not found on your system" Probably because Office 2000 had not been updated with SR1a.

I do have Office 2000 (Original, not OEM copy) installed running under Windows XP Home so I assume I would need SR1a as the launch for the SP3 installation.

IF you do have a copy of SR1a that would really be appreciated for the following reasons.

I do have one license left for a second installation of the Office 2010 Professional Pro suite, but I want to keep this as at some point in the future, when funds (Pension) permit I will buy a laptop and install Office 2010 on that. In the mean time I have a perfectly good and functional Desktop PC that I can use as a permanent backup PC. Having lost a major amount of data due to a HD failure I am not going to risk it happening again.

If I installed Office 2010 on that desktop it would be a real waste of the very expensive program.

As OL2003 is compatible with OL2010 this would be a far better option considering the very limited use it would get on the backup PC.

Hopefully you will find the right cd so I can get the old PC running with OL2003 unicode version and save my pennies for a laptop for my second license of Office 2010:D:D

Many thanks and Regards

Alan.
 

Forum Admin

Senior Member
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

You can't update Outlook 2000 to 2003 unless you buy a copy of Outlook 2003. If I had a retail copy of Office 2003, I'd be more than happy to send it to you, but I gave away my last copy a couple of years ago - my company has volume licenses now.
 

Trapper

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Using Outlook 2010 in Outlook2000 as backup ?

Hi Admin.

It would seem I have lucked out, and my sincere thanks for your help.

I will continue my search for a copy of the 2003 program as someone must have a dusty copy sitting around somewhere. If this fails I may install the 2010 version until I do get a laptop then transfer it across to that. In the mean time I will copy my profile using Robocopy so I will at least have a profile to copy back in the event of another hardware failure.

My very best regards

Alan.
 
Top