How did hacker cause link to delete and archive containing email?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterH

Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
I am an experienced software developer cognizant of phishing schemes. I didn't think I could fall for one, but I lost my focus for a minute and clicked on a hyperlink in email from a (very clever) hacker. That took me to a website with MS login credentials at which point I immediately closed the browser realizing it was a hack.

Somehow this must have run something because the e-mail then appeared as deleted and archived (i.e., under deleted items where you click "recover items recently removed from this folder").

I want to understand: from clicking on this hyperlink and website referral how did the hacker delete and archive the e-mail in my desktop Outlook?

I program in JavaScript and understand what web scripts can and cannot do, but I do not know what hyperlinks in e-mails can do. Any ideas on how this was done so I can prevent it and gauge if anything else was done.

When I tried to forward the e-mail as an attachment to report it as abuse, my outgoing advanced e-mail security (Proofpoint) would not allow it to be delivered, so clearly it sees the e-mail itself contains an exploit, but where?

(Obviously I changed my password, verified no external logins and had already implemented MFA and scanned for viruses')

Thx

It's not unusually for hackers to delete mail in the inbox after they gain access - the link would have went to a fake site, where they trick you into entering your credentials then they run the script on the mailbox.

If you didn't log in, the script should not have deleted the mail.

BTW, if you haven't changed your password, do it now - and enable 2 factor authentication.