Outlook saves canceled messages in Deleted folder as an unread message

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayb

Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
Exchange Server
When I begin to type a message, then realize that I don't need to send it and hit the red X and cancel it, sometimes outlook will ask "a copy of this has been saved in your drafts folder, would you like to save this message?" and I choose No. Then it put's the unfinished message in my deleted items, but shows it as an unread message. Really just a nuisance, but I hate showing an unread message in my deleted items folder. I go to see what it is and it's that silly message I never sent. Any way to turn that feature off? It seems only to happen after the 3 minute auto save of drafts occurs.

It can go to deleted if it must, I just don't want it to show as unread.

Thanks,

Jayb:confused:
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Unfortunately there is no way to change it so it's deleted as unread. I actually had never noticed it because I usually have 200 or more unread messages in the deleted folder. :)

Well, there is one way - use a macro that marks all items that go into the deleted folder as read. Use the macro at Mark Sent Items as Read After Copying with a Rule - Slipstick Systems to mark everything going into the deleted folder as read.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top