vba for a rule to automatically accept meeting requests with 'vacation' in subject, change to all-day event, change to free, don't send reply

Status
Not open for further replies.

diver864

Outlook version
Outlook 2019 32-bit
Email Account
Exchange Server
Hi, the company I work for sends out meeting requests to everyone when someone is going to be on vacation, as a way of letting people know who's not going to be available. But the meeting requests are set for 8am to 5pm, include the standard 15 minute reminder, and are set to busy, which makes a mess of things in my calendar when I accept them. I have to change them manually.

Instead I would like to set up a rule that runs a script, which automatically accepts meeting requests with 'vacation' in the subject, changes the even to be an all-day event, changes free/busy to 'free', and does not send a reply to the organizer. I have searched and found macros that do bits and pieces of this, but I am not a VBA programmer and don't know how to weave them all together.

I would be thrilled to have a solution - how do I do this?

Thanks!

I have sample rules on this page, including how to not send a respose -

adding code to change fields is easy - as long as you know the field name

.BusyStatus = olFree
.AllDayEvent = True
.ReminderSet = False ' remove reminder

Status
Not open for further replies.
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
P VBA to add email address to Outlook 365 rule Outlook VBA and Custom Forms 0
B Modify VBA to create a RULE to block multiple messages Outlook VBA and Custom Forms 0
D VBA - unable to set rule condition 'on this computer only' Outlook VBA and Custom Forms 5
N Outlook Email Rule execution through shortcut keys (VBA codes) Using Outlook 1
dweller Outlook 2010 Rule Ignores VBA Script Outlook VBA and Custom Forms 2
K VBA BeforeItemMove event create rule to always move to its folder. Outlook VBA and Custom Forms 4