Save and rename outlook email attachments to include domain name & date received

Status
Not open for further replies.

weslake77

Outlook version
Outlook 2016 64 bit
Email Account
Outlook.com (as MS Exchange)
Hi all,
I'm not a developer and quite the beginner. I work for my family on a farm and we have a heap of invoices coming in each month via email and I'd love to be able to create a macro that allows all attachments that are invoices or statements to be saved to a file on my computer.
I have a macro that is currently functioning well that pulls all attachments that include the words Ïnvoice or Statement into a folder on my computer.
This is it below:

Public Sub SaveAttachmentsToDisk(MItem As Outlook.MailItem)
Dim oAttachment As Outlook.Attachment
Dim sSaveFolder As String
sSaveFolder = "C:\Users\Sarah\OneDrive\Accounts & Invoices\2018\Email Invoice Attachments\"
For Each oAttachment In MItem.Attachments
oAttachment.SaveAsFile sSaveFolder & oAttachment.DisplayName
Next
End Sub

But now I have a huge file filled with a bunch of files (invoices and statements) that are badly named and I don't know what they are unless I open them up.
So, I'd love to be able to rename the attachment to include the email domain & the date received.
For example - I get an invoice from a company called Queensland Bearings - their email address is "admin@queenslandbearings.com.au" and the email was received on the 1st April 2018. I would like the attachment to be saved as "QueenslandBearings-20180401"
Can someone please help me with the code for this?
Greatly appreciated
Sarah.

Hi all, pretty desperate for a reply. Your help would be greatly appreciated

You can extract somewhat useful information out of SenderEmailAddress.

Code:
Public Sub SaveAttachmentsToDisk(MItem As mailItem)

Dim oAttachment As attachment
    Dim sSaveFolder As String

Dim sndrEmailAdd As String
    Dim sndrEmailRight As String
    Dim sndrEmailPreDot As String

Dim saveName As String