Autopopulate Email Subject from Project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Outlook version
Outlook 2013 32 bit
Email Account
Exchange Server
When a user opens up a new email from within a Project, it autopopulates the "To:" field with all the linked accounts/contacts that are attached to the project.

How can I get it to also autopopulate the subject of the Project in the "Subject" field? I am fairly-to-moderately familiar with VBA (mostly worked in Excel) and wouldn't mind coming up with a macro to do this, but I'm very new at messing with VBA in BCM. Anyone have any suggestions?

I'm not famliar with BCM, however, this should work: The Newinspector event is triggered when a new item opens. In that event check Application.ActiveWindow, if it's an Explorer, ActiveExplorer.Selection(1) gives you a ref on the selected item. If it's an Inspector, Activeinspector.CurrentItem will do it. Once you have that reference, read it's Subject property.

I was able to get it to populate the subject line, but unfortunately when I do that the associated contacts disappear and no longer populate the "To:" field. Oh well.

I'm using a slightly modified version of this example from Microsoft (mine sends an automated email when the notes for a project or task are updated instead of when the status changes). I just added this to ThisOutlookSession after declaring oTaskItem outside all of the other stuff:

Public Sub CreateNewMessage()
Dim objMsg As MailItem
Set objMsg = Application.CreateItem(olMailItem)
With objMsg
.Subject = oTaskItem.Subject
.Display
End With
Set objMsg = Nothing
End Sub​

You're losing the contacts because you are creating a new item:
Set objMsg = Application.CreateItem(olMailItem)

My BCM is broken so i can't test much of anything to find out if there is a way to do what you want. :(

Try the suggested approach, that is Outlook creates the email, and you just change the subject.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Similar threads