Enormous size of IMAP .pst file

Status
Not open for further replies.

chupacabra

Outlook version
Outlook 2010 64 bit
Email Account
IMAP
I've been using MS Outlook for many years and probably this question will be on a level of a caveman but
can anyone explain me what exactly is stored inside .pst file which is being created when I set up email account in IMAP?

You can use a program called MFCMAPI to look at the hidden things, just don't delete anything. The IMAP pst in Outlook 2010 has mail, some hidden messages for rules, views and other things. The message overhead can be as much as 25% (Outlook msg format compared to the IMAP server's mbox format), so it will be larger than the mailbox on the server but how much is specific to your mail. Larger messages and messages with attachments grow more in the conversion than small messages. I would expect about 10% larger.

So just to clarify; it contains only emails and it can't contain data like contacts, tasks or notes? If I delete it will everything download again from a server?
Another thing I don't understand is if my IMAP .pst file has like 10GB and I delete it, why after it's recreated it's much smaller than before, like 2GB. What happens with the rest 8GB?

IMAP is email only, so yes, in Outlook 2010 you'll only have email in it. Outlook 2013's IMAP accounts can have calendar and contacts in local "This Computer Only" folders only. It's a poor decision in my mind, too easy to lose them and they can't be recovered.

I have no idea what happened to the 8 GB but one can assume the data file was corrupt or Outlook went nuts, and you have in the neighborhood of 2 GB actually on the server. I've never had it happen to me personally but have heard tell of as much as 50 GB data files when the server had much less.

One thing that can cause a large pst is RSS feeds. I don't know if you can deliver RSS feeds to an IMAP data file in Outlook 2010.