Outlook 365 Outlook folder export to PST archival tool - close, but need a nudge

macdotcom

OS Version(s)
  1. Windows
Outlook version
Outlook 365 64 bit
Email Account
IMAP
Operating system::    Win 11 & 10
Outlook version:     Office 365
Email type or host:    IMAP

I've been working on a PST archival tool based on this thread (Export Folder to PST).

My background is strong in Excel VBA and VB, but Outlook VBA is new to me so I probably have a declaration wrong or using a wrong object type. I'm sure members here will probably spot it easily, but i'm lost on what I've missed.

Some background: We are an engineering firm. In my office, we have about 200 projects a year, some large (1000's of emails, go on for years) and some small (maybe 10, quick and done). In the last 10 years, I've hit the limit 4 times on size of my account. In the past, I manually exported stored project emails to PSTs to save on the network server in the projects folder. I have to save them, in case there's an issue down the line. But when I need to manually archive 50 folders once a year, typing each one and making 10 clicks to use the built in export tool, it's a royal PITA.

So when I found the thread above, I was excited to get something going -- and it did for a while. And I started this little side project, trying to make it universal so I can share with others in my company, who may not be so Outlook/VBA savvy. I had it working at one point, but now it's not. The problem is that when I get to the indicated section below, I am getting the old "Object or With Variable ..." error and I am blind to see what I'm messed up because this new Outlook object model is a little alien to me.

Finally, the one thing that has driven me nuts for years with PST archival. The Outlook file lock, even after the PST is closed. Is there a way around that?

Help appreciated to push me in the right direction.

Option Explicit

Sub ArchiveEmailtoPST()