Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Tasks

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Hello Everyone,

I don't know why, but when I open up a new task the Insert Tab option in the ribbon is not showing up. I looked in the options and the Insert Tab is checked. It is visible in Business Contact Manager and when I open up a new email etc, but not in tasks.

Possible bug?

Here is a task management question.

Do you guys keep all your tasks in the main Outook tasks folder or do you have many separate folders then in those seperate folders use catagories etc.

I am trying to come up with a system, but I am stuck. My original system has use of lots of subcatagories, but since Outlook doesn't allow subcatagories I am stuck on redoing my system. For example, I like to create music as a hobby. So, I usually would do a main catagory Music, then I would have a subcatagory for Production then under production I would have the software name then next subcatagory would be some tasks in the software that I would need to learn or use to produce the piece etc etc. Any ideas in Outlook to compensate for the lack of use of subcatagories.

Thank you for your help.
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

I personally prefer 1 task folder. While you can see all tasks in the To-do list or To-do bar, i think it adds to the complexity. I found trying to categorize tasks too much didn't help me actually get them done... linked tasks were my bigger issue so for each step of a project i use the subject field to identify the step. "Step 1: Project1 - do whatever". (I tried different formats for the subject and prefer the Step at the beginning even though i see less of the actual task subject. )

In your situation I would probably use a category called "Music: Production" and create stepped tasks if needed.

Instructions to fake subcategories are here: To set up Outlook Subcategories - Slipstick Systems
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

BTW, on the Insert tab issue - I can't repro and I can't recall any bugs relating to it.
 

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

I personally prefer 1 task folder. While you can see all tasks in the To-do list or To-do bar, i think it adds to the complexity. I found trying to categorize tasks too much didn't help me actually get them done... linked tasks were my bigger issue so for each step of a project i use the subject field to identify the step. "Step 1: Project1 - do whatever". (I tried different formats for the subject and prefer the Step at the beginning even though i see less of the actual task subject. )

In your situation I would probably use a category called "Music: Production" and create stepped tasks if needed.

Instructions to fake subcategories are here: To set up Outlook Subcategories - Slipstick Systems
Hi Diane,

Thank you for your time and help. I checked out your Article and isn't Method 1 – Custom Keyword field only for contacts since that is where you are adding?

To make sure I understand, is this a correct way to do what you explained above. I would have my main category as Music:production and then organizing my tasks further I would put in the subject field like, Edit Song: Add Effect to drums. Now if I did it this way, how would you suggest I sort it when you have multiple tasks with different steps.

Thank you very much.
 

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

BTW, on the Insert tab issue - I can't repro and I can't recall any bugs relating to it.
I wonder why I can't get that insert tab to pop up. I guess I will do some more research. Unless I have to reinstall again or repair. Will see.
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

I'll look at it closer this evening - I don't understand why its not working either, unless its related to using BCM (which is on my other computer).
 

Diane Poremsky

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
Office 365 Exchange
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

Method 1 works in all folders. You need to set it up in each folder though.

In your example, I would probably use something like '1: Edit Song: Add Effect to drums' or 'Edit Song: my song title' then put the steps in the task.
 

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

I'll look at it closer this evening - I don't understand why its not working either, unless its related to using BCM (which is on my other computer).
Thank you for your time. Looking forward to see what you come up with.
 

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

Method 1 works in all folders. You need to set it up in each folder though.

In your example, I would probably use something like '1: Edit Song: Add Effect to drums' or 'Edit Song: my song title' then put the steps in the task.
I appreciate your help on this. I kind of like seeing the other steps or tasks with in that category to be seen, so with that said, do you have any more suggestions? Otherwise, I do like your method and should solve my stuckness :)
 

mrje1

Senior Member
Outlook version
Outlook 2016 32 bit
Email Account
POP3
Re: Opening a task the Insert Tab Option is not showing up and organizing Task

Instructions to fake subcategories are here: To set up Outlook Subcategories - Slipstick Systems
I see how to set it up, but I still am not sure on how to use this fake subcategories for tasks. For the Name: should I still put Subcategory or the actual subcategory name like Music is the category and Productions is the subcategory.Also, for some reason when I created the Subcategory one that was in your instructions, later I checked the contact the created subcategory was missing and it won't let me add any more.
 
Top